Day 25: Like Jesus Does

How did it go?

It took me a little while to get my husband at all interested in any type of country music. When he came around, he decided he liked Eric Church. As our First Dance song at our wedding, we played Eric Church’s “Like Jesus Does.”

Part of the chorus of the song goes like this:

She knows the man I ain’t,
She forgives me when I can’t,
The devil, man, he don’t stand a chance,
‘Cause she loves me like Jesus does.

The last time I heard the song, it was on the radio on a two-hour drive home with my husband. And he turned it up and held my hand, which is something he always does when it came on the radio. I remember smiling and feeling how full my heart was.

The song randomly popped into my head this morning as I was getting ready. I caught myself humming and trying to hold back tears.

I always end up crying when I hear it because I’m reminded of not only how I love him but how God loves us. The name of the song says it all.

What did I learn?

As a Christian, it is my belief that Jesus died for our sins, for all the debt we could never repay. He gave His life so we may have ours.

He knows who we are, even when we are not who we want to be (or who He wants us to be). He will always forgive us, even (and possibly most especially) when we cannot forgive ourselves. Because of Him, the enemy does not stand a chance against us.

I was reminded that we are, above all, called to love.

We must love in all we do, regardless of if we feel someone else deserves love, regardless of how others may judge us for loving that person.

I truly feel that the fact that this song popped into my head this morning was a gentle reminder from God: love, love no matter what, show how I love.

And He loves unconditionally. That’s what it means to love “like Jesus does.”

Because of this reminder, I am going to strive to approach each day with love. Believe me—there are definitely days I don’t feel like the people I am around deserve love. But God doesn’t ask us to love because others deserve it; He asks us to love because they don’t always deserve it. I hope I can wake up in the morning feeling a little more positive simply because of this decision.

I am choosing love.

Leave a Reply

