Day 14: A Day in the Moment

How did it go?

When I got home after work yesterday, I got out of my car to find a very flat tire. The flat probably accounted for the loud bang I heard as I exited the freeway, which I took to be me running over something pretty solid.

AAA came by to put on the spare, and I drove it down to the tire store. This morning, I got the call it was fixed—the tire just needed a patch.

Thank God for small positive things.

But the best part of the day was walking Belle to the tire place (because how else was I going to get there and get my car?). It was a cooler day today, for once not extremely hot and humid, and she seemed to have so much fun on the walk. I also noticed that, while she did want to run after some bunnies, by the time we got to the part of the walk it was vital for her to pay attention (since we were next to a freeway and busy street), she walked well and behaved. She definitely isn’t the same as she was when we first moved (in a good way).

It made me proud of how I’ve trained her. Much like a parent smiles at their child when the child finally grasps a concept, I couldn’t stop smiling at Belle. I am just so proud.

Because of the car, though, I worked from home today. Just having Belle lay at my feet while I worked was an incredibly calming feeling. I chuckled at her intermittent groans when she stretched; I smiled and leaned down to pet her when I would get up to stretch; I laughed when she insisted on squishing onto the couch next to me and one of the cats.

Today, then, was just about being present in the moment, whatever that meant. It felt weird, almost unnatural, because I’m so used to planning everything. At the same time, though, it was a bit of a relief—as if someone had given me permission to not have to look ahead for right now—and that was just fine.

What did I learn?

It’s okay to simply be in the moment. What matters is what you do with that.

Meditation, especially on God’s word, is going to be vital for me. I need to get back to my Bible study. I need to have conversations with God. I need to stop just telling Him what I want, because He already knows my heart; instead, I need to be quiet and not drown Him out.

I need to slow down and be in the moment more. I’m just still figuring out how to do that, what it means.

That’s how I’m learning to be positive.

What do you do to slow down? How to you talk with God? And how do you know when you hear Him?

One thought on “Day 14: A Day in the Moment

  1. I need to get into my Bible more as well. I talk a lot about doing that but then don’t. A lot of my blog posts are about slowing down and listening for God. He speaks to my wife through dreams but I guess this blog is an avenue for his nudges to me.

Leave a Reply

