Day 10: The Taming of the Tongue

How did it go?

I may start referring to Friday’s as “Therapy Fridays” because it seems I have a lot to think and say after my therapy sessions. My therapist says it seems like I’m doing a little better, though I do need to keep an eye on those “neutral days” and take note of how often they occur and how long they last. As of now, my feeling of neutrality hasn’t left me, so I guess I’ll see how it progresses (if it does).

Anyway.

Even though I’ve felt neutral, I took today to…relax. I cleaned. Belle helped me vacuum (well, she barked at the vacuum which, to her I guess, is helping). I focused on my writing. In fact, I completed a draft of one article, and I thought of an idea for another (which has been approved and I already started). I took today as an opportunity to work on my passions, and I already feel a little more empowered by it.

I came across a quote this morning on a Christian profile I follow on Twitter that impacted me. Now, I’ve seen this quote a few times before, from the same account, but today it seemed very relevant.

“If you want to get over a problem, stop talking about it. Your mind affects your mouth, and your mouth affects your mind.”

I know this seems a little reversed since I go to therapy, and what do you do in therapy but talk about your problems. To me, though, what this is saying is most relevant to the last part of the quote: “Your mind affects your mouth, and your mouth affects your mind.”

There are plenty of Bible verses about the tongue. Proverbs 15:4 states “a wholesome tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness in it breaks the spirit.” And James 3:5 says, “the tongue is a little member and boasts great things.”

My therapist seemed to like where my ideas about this quote took me, and it led to a better understanding during my session.

What did I learn?

That quote adjusted my perspective today. I’ve realized I talk so much about what I feel is going wrong and not enough about what I can learn. And I realize it’s something I’ve done for a long while now, not just the past few months. And I want to change that.

I think what the quote is saying is that we should reframe our thinking. And we need to pray about it.

Have you heard the phrase “have you prayed about it as much as you’ve talked about it”? That’s what I think of with this quote.

And it’s something I need to hold myself accountable with from here on out. On everything.

3 thoughts on “Day 10: The Taming of the Tongue

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one with the struggle. I think we often forget that our tongue (and minds!) have power. God wants us to go to Him first, but we often go to our earthly support first, which can lead to gossip and trying to connect dots that, perhaps, we aren’t meant to connect.

      And thank you. 🙂 I realized I had a lot to work through personally during this season, and I needed to take care of myself. It’s already given me so much.

  1. Pingback: Day 30: Mindset | mrspallat

Leave a Reply

