Reflecting

I want to take today to talk about something else that has been put on my heart today: marriage.

I have been reading Team of Rivals. It’s very revealing about what life was like for those four men who hoped they would be chosen to be the next President of the United States of America. It talks about their political aspirations, their educational backgrounds, their upbringings, their family life, their marriages, their relationships with other politicians, and even how their political desires affected their lives and their relationships.

Today, though, I was struck by Seward’s relationship with his wife Frances. Seward loved his wife and his children dearly, but Goodwin explains “…the Sewards to a far greater extent than the Lincolns, spent much of their married life apart.” And I realized: I have it pretty good in comparison to these historic couples.

I am preparing to move, and this means being apart from my husband for quite a few months. But this is 2017. We have pen and paper, but we also have phones and computers and airplanes. Sure, we can write old fashion letters, which I love. But we can also call, text, and FaceTime. He can fly to visit me, or I can fly to visit him.

Seward and Frances, or Mary and Lincoln, couldn’t do that.

I value our marriage above everything else, but I also know I need to do my share in providing for my family. This job was the way I could do that.

I know it’s going to be rough, but I also know it will be worth it in the long run. Because at one point we will be on the same page, at the same point, in our careers. And this was the only way I felt that could eventually happen.

I am blessed beyond measure to be married to a man who understands my career needs, to love me regardless of a career choice, to be willing to let me take a job because he knows it is important, to always be my support.

Marriage isn’t easy, especially when you get married young. You learn to grow together, to grow up together, you learn about yourselves together. And we are still learning. But I have faith that this will create good growth for us and our marriage. I can just imagine telling our children one day all the things we went through, with the one message being: with the right person, nothing can tear you apart.

And what’s even more important: putting God first. When He is at the center of your marriage, there is nothing you cannot do.

And I am holding tight to that. I know the separation will be difficult. I know we will miss each other more than we know right now. But I also feel it will be eye opening for us.

I pray for strength, safety, and knowledge. Most of all, I pray for a long and happy marriage. Because I can’t imagine doing life with anyone else, and I wouldn’t want to.

Leave a Reply

