God Promises Renewal

Today’s Scripture has taken some thinking, and I am still not sure what God is saying through these words. Yes, I understand it is Him speaking in the context of the Bible and the individual text. But what is He trying to tell me now? I guess we can find out together.

 

Ezekiel 36:24-28

“For I will take you from among the nations, gather you out of all countries, and bring you into your own land. Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you shall be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; I will take the heart of stone out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put my My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them. Then you shall dwell in the land that I gave to your fathers; you shall be My people, and I will be your God.”

God is speaking to His people. Let’s examine context. This Scripture is part of a section, in my Bible, titled The Renewal of Israel. God is telling Ezekiel that He was upset with the Israelites for “defiling” their land. His punishment was to scatter them across many lands and nations where they would be judged according to Him for what they had done. Now, He is telling them He will gather them again, for they have been judged, and He will bring them back to their land and make them clean.

 

The take away is…

I think the lesson here is that, even when God has judged us, or when we have fallen outside of His Will, He still cares for us. I mean, the Israelites “profaned” the name of God! They “defiled” the land He had given them! And yet, God continued to love them, and he showed that love by promising to cleanse them and return them to the land He had promised them. He renewed them. And He renews us too.

God has amazing things planned for us and amazing places He plans to take us. Even if we get off track, He still loves us, and He will always bring us back to where we need to be.

What promise have you let go of? What renewal do you need?

Leave a Reply

