Seeking Wisdom

Yesterday’s and today’s Scriptures made me think. I had to think hard about relevance, because far too often it’s easy to put your Bible down and stop reading (or writing) because you think “and what does this possibly have to do with me, here, now?” God always speaks to us in our current time and place. So I wanted to share with you how I have felt God has told me yesterday’s and today’s Scriptures connect and how they have been relevant for me.

 

Day 5, Psalm 90:12-17

Yesterday’s Scripture was Psalm 90:12-17. Much, if not all, of Psalms is devoted to singing the praises of the Lord, and 90:12-17 was no different.

“So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Return, o Lord! How long? And have compassion on your servants. Oh, satisfy us early with Your mercy, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days! Make us glad according to the days in which You have afflicted us, the years in which we have seen evil. Let Your work appear to Your servants, and Your glory to their children. And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands for us; yes, establish the work of our hands.”

These verses ask God to grant us mercy so we may rejoice, even in times of difficulty, and to allow His people to see His works. Psalm 90:12 resonated with me the most: “So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” I felt this verse was simple to me: seek the Lord to gain wisdom. This Psalm was asking for God’s instruction in some ways and asking that He “show up” for us.

That is definitely a prayer I have prayed.

 

Day 6, Jeremiah 29:11-14

Today’s Scripture is one many church-going Christians probably know all too well. Or at least know some of. Jeremiah 29:11-14. This is where we gain the knowledge that God has plans for us.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. I will be found by you, says the Lord, and I will bring you back from your captivity; I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where I have driven you, says the Lord, and I will bring you to the place from which I cause you to be carried away captive.”

This is a verse I hang on to in my heart, especially in times of disappointment. Like when I was getting rejections from jobs or not even getting interviews for jobs I applied for. This Scripture reminds me that He has a plan for me, and if something does not work out the way I originally wanted it to, then it probably isn’t part of His plan.

God loves us. He has never, and will never, not love us. But in order for us to know His plans, to see Him work, we must seek Him with all our hearts. This scripture is what has encouraged me to seek Him more.

 

The take away here is…

When I struggle with what this new job and the move means for my husband and I, I am reminded that God has plans to give us a future and to give us hope. Always. He would not place something in front of us, guide us somewhere, and forsake us. No. He will guide us, we will call upon Him, and He will work in our lives in ways we can hardly imagine.

These Scriptures seem to speak the same thing to me, though: seek Him to gain wisdom. Psalm 90:12 is very straight forward about that—“So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Jeremiah 29:11-14 may not be, but I feel it is in there in the Lord telling us He has plans for us, that we should seek Him and He will listen. By seeking Him and understanding that He does have plans for us, we do gain wisdom. We gain wisdom in our faith, in Him, and in life. We learn that He is in control, not us. And by having the wisdom to relinquish our control, we open up the door for God to work.

I will not pretend I am an expert on wisdom, because I am not. I don’t always show wisdom in decisions, and I have often paid for that. But I am learning. By His grace, I am learning.

Maybe you have been trying to seek Him but you feel lost now. Discouraged. Don’t worry—you’re not alone. But I encourage you to continue to seek Him. Seek Him with all your heart.

Where do you need wisdom?

Leave a Reply

