Psalm 98:1-9 : Praising God

It took me some time to decide to write about today’s Scripture because I was trying to think about how to connect it to what’s going on and to the news I have to share.

Today’s Scripture was Psalm 98:1-9: “Oh, sing to the Lord a new song! For He has done marvelous things; His right hand and His hold arm have gained Him the victory. The Lord has made known His salvation; His righteousness He has revealed in the sight of the nations. He has remembered His mercy and His faithfulness to the house of Israel; all the ends of the earth have seen the salvation of our God. Shout joyfully to the Lord, all the earth; break forth in song, rejoice, and sing praises. Sing to the Lord with the harp, with the harp and the sound of a Psalm, with trumpets and the sound of a horn; shout joyfully before the Lord, the King. Let the sea roar, and all its fullness, the world and those who dwell in it; let the rivers clap their hands; let the hills be joyful together before the Lord, for He is coming to judge the earth. With righteousness He shall judge the world, and the peoples with equity.”

As you can see, this seems pretty long. But I hear God saying the same thing: “Rejoice. Give praise.” And I should, for everything. For me, what I learned here was straightforward: give praise to God, be joyful for Him.

And, believe me, I have plenty to be joyful for.

And that is why I said in the first two days of this that the Scriptures were so meaningful to me, because things are happening in my life.

Last month, as my husband and I were leaving for a relaxing vacation to Mexico for a week, I received an email with a job offer. After conversations of what this means, how this will work, how it will affect our relationship, how it impacts my husband’s career, and, of course, an official start date, I accepted the position. I start on January 30.

In 3 weeks, I (and our 3 animals) will be moving to Virginia. Without my husband. And I will be without him for about 6 months, possibly longer.

So what, you may ask, do I have to sing praises for?

The answer? Everything.

Yes, I will be away from my husband. And, yes, it’s going to be painful emotionally. I will miss him. But I am thankful that I have a husband who supports this career move for me. I am thankful that he knows what this means for me, for us, for our future. I am thankful for his strength and his faith.

I am thankful that I was offered a job so soon after receiving my master’s. In just 6 months. Many people wait much longer. I am thankful that an employer saw the potential in me that I know I have and am so eager to prove.

I am thankful that I have family who are willing to help me in any way they can as I embark on this adventure.

I am thankful for technology, which will make the distance between my husband and I that much easier.

So even through the difficulties, emotionally and financially, I will praise the Lord because nothing would be possible without Him. He has blessed me with what I have, and it all belongs to Him.

Today’s Scripture resonated with me a bit more than I thought it would when I initially wrote it down. And I hope it can make an impact in your life.

What should you sing praises for?

Leave a Reply

