Sometimes understanding God’s Word is a struggle.

Day 3. Today’s verse was a little more difficult for me to understand, and I am praying that God will show me what I am to learn from it. As the title says, sometimes understanding God’s Word is a struggle.

So, here is today’s Scripture Writing. Ecclesiastes 3:11-15: “He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end. I know that nothing is better for them than to rejoice, and to do good in their lives, and also that every man should eat and drink and enjoy the good of all his labor—it is the gift of God. I know that whatever God does, it shall be forever. Nothing can be added to it, and noting take from it. God does it, that men should fear before Him. That which is has already been, and what is to be has already been; and God requires an account of what is past.”

Maybe you can see why this one is confusing, why it didn’t speak to me quite like the verses of the past 2 days. In my New Spirit Filled Life Bible, the New King James Version, these verses are part of the section titled “The God-Given Task.” So, my take away is relatively simple: that God ordains our tasks in life, and that we have the right to enjoy the fruits of our labor, but that we must also rejoice because, in the end, it is God who has given us what we have.

I like verse 14 the best. “I know that whatever God does, it shall be forever. Nothing can be added to it, and nothing taken from it.” I think this is telling us that everything God has done in our lives will remain. No one can diminish the miracles or the blessings God has placed in our lives, and no human’s work can add to His work. Because He is God.

As I said, I am still struggling with this one, and I pray that God shows me what He desires me to learn from this passage. But I invite you to struggle with me. What do you think these verses are saying? Has God spoken to you? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

