Remember: His mercies are new every day

Today is Day 2 of the Scripture Writing Plan, and I am already sensing a bit of a theme in what God is speaking to me.

Today’s verse is Lamentations 3:22-26: “Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. ‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul, ‘Therefore I hope in Him!’ The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him. It is good that one should hope and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

I felt yesterday’s verse, Isaiah 43:16-19, was about letting go of the past to allow God to do more in our lives. Today, I sense a bit of the same. If His mercies are what keep us from being consumed, if His compassions are new every day, then surely He forgave us for whatever happened yesterday (both immediately yesterday and the more distant past). So surely we can, and should, forgive ourselves and not dwell on it. God has promised us a fresh start every. single. day.

I have heard that forgiving yourself is often the hardest thing to do, and I think that’s because we truly know what was in our heart and our mind, and we must live with that person for the rest of our lives. We must live with the knowledge that we have the power to be that person again, good or bad. But I have also been told that if we cannot forgive ourselves, then we are saying Jesus was not enough. Because if God can forgive us, if He sent His Son to die for us, then what more could we possibly want?

So, yes, “Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed.”

The other thing I hear from this is that God is faithful, and He will “show up” (as our pastor says) when you seek Him. But what gets me is verse 26: “It is good that one should hope and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” I do not take this as God telling us to hide our faith (“Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket” – Matthew 5:15). Instead, I take this to mean that we should seek Him in our hearts and wait and listen for His answer to our seeking.

I can’t help but feel that God is telling me to let go of things in my past, great and small. He is reminding me that, yes, His mercies are new every day and that He is always faithful. This Scripture Writing Plan is reminding me of all I can learn when I actively seek God and take time to truly listen to what He has to say to me.

My question to you today is this: What new mercy do you need God to show you today? What forgiveness do you need reminding of so you can move forward and seek God?

Leave a Reply

