Be Thankful

When life gets tough, it can be difficult to find reasons to be thankful. But here’s the thing: life is rarely easy. That just means that sometimes we have to be conscious of what we are thankful for and repeat that to ourselves as a mantra, especially when we are feeling let down. So, in light of that and in honor of Thanksgiving, I want to share a few things I am very thankful for.

The first is a thing and a person: my husband and the relationship I have with him. Things around here have not been easy since he joined the National Guard. There can be a lot of frustration, confusion, and worry. And sometimes I feel like he is the one making a difference and doing something meaningful while I am stuck with another year of school. While the decision is a hard one to get over and learn to live with, it has made us take new steps in our marriage. My husband constantly reminds me that I do make a difference when I teach and that I will make a difference in the future. I just need my master’s to do it. Instead of giving up on us and just deciding I overreacted to his decision to join the Guard, he encouraged us to find someone to speak with. I am thankful that he works so hard to provide for us so I can continue my education and not have to pick up a second job. I am thankful for his kiss goodbye in the morning when he heads to work and his kiss hello when he comes home. I am thankful for his comforting embrace when I am stressed or just having a rough day with school. I am thankful for his encouragement and devotion. He challenges me to think harder and be better every day. I am thankful God allowed me to find him so early in life, allowing me to spend that much more of my life with him.

The second reason I am thankful is for such wonderful parents. Being an only child, I am a little spoiled, but they have worked so hard to provide for me, and they still help my husband and I now. They love my husband and never once doubted my feelings for him when we were dating; they knew it was only a matter of time before I would marry him. They supported me through a move out of state to college, when I changed my degree, when I got married, when I got accepted to graduate school. They have always supported my dreams and have encouraged me to go where God leads me and to listen to His plan for me. They let me know to take deep breaths when I feel like everything is caving in around me. They always let me know they love me and will always be there for me in everything they say and do.

Third, I am thankful for my Nana. My Nana, my mom’s mom, helped raise me, and I am forever grateful for the wisdom (and wonderful recipes) she has imparted to me over my 24 years. I know she loves me because, even though her and I butt heads sometimes, she is honest with me. Even in our spats, I know she loves me. Because if she didn’t, I don’t think we would have the same fights. I am blessed to have helped her mold me. She has also encouraged my husband and I on our journey, and I know she loves him, which means a lot to me. She took him in as her grandson-in-law (as she calls him), and spoils him like she always has spoiled me. She is a wonderful woman.

I am thankful for my close extended family for leading me to Christ. Without the trip to Passion, I don’t think I would ever be where I am or have gotten through my husband’s decision to join the Guard.

I am thankful to my extended family in general for raising two amazing people who turned out to be two amazing parents. You laid the foundation for my parents to raise me and have impacted me greatly.

I am thankful for my friends, old and new, for being people I can trust and be honest with. You have all showed me such different views and have given me so much to take in. I am so thankful that we can have the conversations we do and that I do not have to worry about being judged for who I am or what I believe.

More simply, I am thankful for my job because it means I have a paycheck. I am thankful for my instructors and my program because it means I have the ability to learn, improve, and change my world. I am thankful for having to clean our apartment because it means I have a place to call home. I am thankful for a church that challenges not only me but also my husband in our faith and encourages us to act.

I am thankful for so many things in my life, and these are just a few of them. Sometimes those simple things, like cleaning the apartment, are hard to be thankful for, but they always mean something. I encourage you to look for the deeper meaning in everything and see that God has given you so many wonderful opportunities to be thankful and so many things and people to be thankful for. The next time you are having a difficult day, write down one or two things you feel thankful for that day and see how it makes you feel. I bet it will improve your mood and perspective.

So, what are you thankful for?

Leave a Reply

