Quietly Celebrating Three Years

The dress is beautiful—pure white, small beading at the top, buttons (to hide the zipper) going down the back. As I am assisted into the gown, I look down at myself, and I can feel the tears begin to well in my eyes. My mother hands me a tissue. I feel beautiful, like a princess.

I pin the flower to my dad’s tuxedo. My friends, he, and myself pile into the car to take me to the beginning of my future.

I link my right arm through my dad’s left, and he grips my hand tightly. He makes a joke. I chuckle. I’m focused. He stands with me, still gripping my hand, teary-eyed: “Her mother and I.”

“Love is patient, love is kind…Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13. “You may now kiss the bride.”

And suddenly, too quickly, the ceremony ends, and I am holding hands with the man who is now my husband. 

Three years ago today I exchanged vows with my husband. We smiled at each other through the chilly air and the wind in Point Arena, California. We poured our unity sand. We promised love, respect, patience, and to not go it alone. For better or for worse.

The past year has seen us at our worst, but it has also seen us at our best. It has tested our patience, and it may have even tested our vows. But love never fails. 1 Corinthians 13:8.

It’s tattooed on my back, between my shoulder blades. It does not only represent the love we have for each other, but the love Christ has for us. It’s a reminder: no matter what, He is with us.

And I have needed that reminder a lot.

Even through the hard times, I would not want to go through this life or experience this journey with anyone besides the man I married. I thank him for his patience with me, especially when I know it’s difficult to be patient with me, and for his unfailing love for me. I respect him for all he does, and I know he does it for us. Even if we do not always agree on the best course of action, I know that our family, our future, and our stability are on his mind.

Today we celebrate our anniversary. He works during the day, but I am cooking our anniversary dinner. It is the first time we have not gone out to celebrate, but I am actually really excited to create dinner on my own and to have a quiet celebration at home.

I am blessed to have been able to start my married life with him so soon. I am always awed by the wonderful man of God he is. I am blessed for the life we get to live together.

Happy anniversary, darling.

Leave a Reply

