Getting Set…

Today is the day I get on a plane and head to South Carolina. I don’t like flying, and I don’t really like going through security, but I don’t mind the airport so much. The interesting thing is this: in my qualitative research class, my group is working on an ethnography on communication strategies in airports. For part of our research, since the three of us travel during the time of the research, we are using autoethnography. That means I get to take notes on my own experience of travelling while I am in the airport tomorrow and Friday. So that should be interesting.

But travelling means I had to leave my furbabies behind. So I’m really nervous about being away. A pet sitter will be coming by today and every other day until Saturday to check on them, but I’m still nervous. They’re my babies…

I couldn’t sleep last night, so I got up earlier than I really needed to. I thought I would fit in a short, in-room exercise set, and I did. But it didn’t take up as much time as I thought it would. So there I was, 2 a.m. and showering 2 full hours before I had to take the shuttle to the airport. Time has seemed to move quicker than I thought it would the last 2 months, especially in the last 3 weeks, but it always seems to move slower when you least want it to.

The airport at 4:30 a.m. is relatively quiet. The gates to security weren’t even open yet when I got there at 4:15. It took me maybe 10 minutes to get through security, which may be a record. Although I rarely like getting up early, it’s worth it to beat the rush.

Today is filled with traveling. I land in Charleston at 3:55, then I have to rent a car, and I won’t be to my hotel on base until around 7 because it’s an hour and a half drive. I’ve never had to drive after flying all day, so I have a feeling it will be a coffee-filled kind of day to keep me going.

I am praying for safe travels and for tomorrow to come quickly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

